Request for Community Input to the Coordinating Panel for Advanced Detectors

Dear Colleagues,
This is a request for input to the work of the Coordinating Panel for Advanced Detectors (CPAD):

There are ten CPAD working groups and their memberships are listed below. We are soliciting input from the community on any of the ten areas and kindly ask you to contact the relevant CPAD members with your ideas and suggestions.

CPAD was established by the DPF in response to a recommendation of the DPF Instrumentation Taskforce (ITF), which can be found at

The ITF identified several areas were work was needed in order to develop a national instrumentation program in a global context.

CPAD’s first job was to organize the Instrumentation Frontier at Snowmass.
This year, CPAD, with an enlarged membership, has established ten working groups corresponding to the areas identified by the ITF. Background information for each area may be found in the ITF Report and in addition, the Snowmass Instrumentation Frontier Report provides very useful information:

CPAD Working Groups:

i) Coordination of instrumentation resources at National Labs for the HEP community (Bonnie Fleming, David McFarlane, Erik Ramberg, Graham Smith)

ii) Development of a solicitation for instrumentation grand challenges (Jim Alexander, Marina Artuso, David McFarlane, Wesley Smith)

iii) Creation of a National Instrumentation Fellowship program for both post docs and graduate students (Juan Estrada, Ulrich Heintz, Maurice Garcia-Sciveres, Gabriella Sciolla, Matt Wetstein)

iv) A program to further develop instrumentation schools and education (Marina Artuso, Rick van Berg, Juan Estrada, Erik Ramberg, Bob Wagner)

v) The creation of an APS DPF Award for Excellence in Instrumentation Research and Development (Howard Nicholson, Gabriella Sciolla, Graham Smith)

vi) Continuation and organization of an, at least, annual national instrumentation workshop for the HEP community (Jim Alexander, Ulrich Heintz, Ron Lipton, Bob Wagner)

vii) The enhancement of interdisciplinary aspects of instrumentation including a closer relationship with Nuclear Physics, Basic Energy Sciences, the medical community, NASA, and the national security community in part through a series of interdisciplinary workshops. (Rick van Berg, Ron Lipton, Matt Wetstein).

viii) Preparation of the groundwork to request input on which topics in instrumentation should be encouraged in the yearly SBIR/STTR proposal calls (Clarence Chang, Maurice Garcia-Sciveres, Pete Siddons, Wesley Smith).

ix) Develop a plan to establish and maintain a repository of examples of migration of technologies and instrumentation for other sciences into high-energy physics or, even better, a repository of possible new developments in other fields that might benefit the development of new sensors or instrumentation in general. (Clarence Chang, Ron Lipton, Pete Siddons)

x) Establish an improved model of an equipment pool that could be used for instrumentation development at U.S. universities and labs. (Bonnie Fleming, Maurice Garcia-Sciveres, Howard Nicholson, Erik Ramberg)

We are looking forward to hearing from you!


National Labs:
Marcel Demarteau (, ANL (co-chair)
Juan Estrada (, FNAL
Maurice Garcia-Sciveres (,
LBNL Ron Lipton (, FNAL
David MacFarlane (, SLAC
Pete Siddons (, BNL
Graham Smith (, BNL
Bob Wagner (, ANL

Jim Alexander (, Cornell
Marina Artuso (, Syracuse
Bonnie Fleming (, Yale
Ulrich Heintz (, Brown
Howard Nicholson (, Mt. Holyoke
Gabriela Sciolla (, Brandeis
Ian Shipsey (, Oxford (co-chair)
Wesley Smith (, Wisconsin
Rick van Berg (, Penn
Matt Wetstein (, Chicago

Ariella Cattai (, CERN
Junji Haba (, KEK