2014 APS Fellows

Many congratulations to the 2014 American Physical Society Fellows nominated by the Division of Particles and Fields.   The new Fellows will be honored at the annual DPF Business Meeting  during the APS April Meeting in Savannah.  All DPF members are welcome and encouraged to attend.New 2014 APS Fellows nominated by DPF:


Peter Arnold
For accomplishments in developing gauge theories at high temperature.

David Asner
For his leadership in heavy flavor physics and for his key role in the analysis and interpretation of CLEO data.

Mary Bishai
For her contributions to flavor physics, including analysis of the NuMI/MINOS neutrino beam, leadership of the accelerator neutrino program, and contributions to understanding of the b-quark.

Roy Briere
For important contributions to the physics of particles containing b and c quarks, crucial to the success of the CLEO and BESIII experiments, and for leadership roles in those experiments.

John Campbell
For work in perturbative quantum chromodynamics, especially the precise simulation of standard model processes in high energy particle collisions.

Larry Gladney
For his contributions to the study of B physics at the Tevatron and Babar, and for his outstanding efforts in science teaching and outreach programs for middle – and high school students and teachers.

Eva Halkiadakis
For her leadership in precision electroweak and top quark measurements at the Tevatron and searches for Supersymmetry at the LHC and for pioneering work in pursuit of new physics in multi-jet final states.

Deborah Harris
For leadership in measuring the neutrino reactions that enable current and future accelerator neutrino oscillation experiments.

Jay Hauser
For leadership in searches for new phenomena within the CDF and CMS collaborations, and in conception, design, construction, and operation of detector and trigger systems enabling these experiments.

David Kaplan
For contributions to models for new physics beyond the Standard Model, collider phenomenology, and dark-matter theory, and for his role as an inventive and effective leader in public outreach.

Wai-Yee Keung
For his influential contributions to elementary particle theory, including CP violation and electric dipole moments, Higgs physics, and collider phenomenology.

David Morrison
For his many contributions to the connection between geometry and physics, including spacetime singularities and topology change in string theory, generalizations of AdS/CFT duality, and foundational work in F theory.

Kevin Pitts
For his leading role in heavy-flavor physics at the Tevatron Collider, including the first evidence of CP violation in bottom mesons, and for significant contributions to triggering at the Collider.

Peter Rowson
For his leading role in precision electroweak measurements in he SLD detector at the Stanford Linear Collider.

Maria Spiropulu
For pioneering searches for supersymmetry and extra dimensions at the Tevatron, innovative searches for new physics and the study of the Higgs boson at the LHC, and key contributions to triggering and data flow for CDF and CMS.

Shufang Su
For her fundamental contributions to the phenomenology of Higgs bosons, dark matter, supersymmetry, and other physics beyond the Standard Model, which have stimulated and guided experimental search programs.

Scott Thomas
For contributions to the careful analysis of data from experiments at hadron colliders, to the phenomenology of many theories of physics beyond the Standard Model, and to supersymmetry, inflationary cosmology, and quantum gravity.

A Zee
For his wide-ranging impact on particle physics, quantum field theory, condensed matter physics, cosmology, and biophysics, and in recognition of his unique popular writings and textbooks.