community Archive

  • nsbf-nshp

    NSBP/NSHP prize

    The DPF congratulates Kassahun Betre (Stanford/SLAC), winner of the particle physics prize at the Joint Annual Conference of the National Society of Black Physicists and the National Society of Hispanic Physicists.  He presented a poster entitled “Probing the Top Quark at the LHC Through Photon...

    Full Story

  • schoolhouseelection

    Results of 2011 DPF Elections

    We are pleased to announce the results of the 2011 DPF election as follows: Ian Shipsey of Purdue University has been elected Vice-Chair. Nikos Varelas of University of Illinois at Chicago and Yuri Gershtein of Rutgers University have been elected members of the DPF Executive Committee. We...

    Full Story

  • feedback-image

    Feedback requested on DPF Instrumentation Task Force Report

    The DPF Instrumentation Task Force requests immediate community feedback  by November 11 on their draft report.  Please send your comments to and feel free to post below in the comments section below. The primary recommendation of the Task Force Report is the creation of...

    Full Story

  • albert-receives-nobel-prize

    DPF Prizes and Awards for 2012

    By Patricia McBride.  The American Physical Society Division of Particles and Fields is pleased to announce the 2012 recipients of the DPF Prizes and Awards.    The DPF 2012 Dissertation Award recipients will be announced at a later date.    All 2012 Prize and Award recipients will...

    Full Story

  • taskforce

    Status of the DPF Task Force on Instrumentation in High Energy Physics

    By Ian Shipsey and Marcel Demarteau The DPF Taskforce on Instrumentation has spent the last few months evaluating the current status of instrumentation in particle physics. The fifteen member Taskforce and its advisors have formulated five position papers available at The community is encouraged...

    Full Story

  • edit2011_3

    Registration Now Open for E.D.I.T. 2012 Detector School

    The 2012 Excellence in Detectors and Instrumentation Technologies school (EDIT 2012) will be hosted by Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory in Batavia, IL, USA, from February 13 through 24, 2012. This is the second in a new series of international schools on particle physics detectors and instrumentation. The...

    Full Story

  • Switzerland, Valais, Taschalap, Men playing on alphorns

    Plans for a Research and Study Abroad Program for U.S. Physics Students in Geneva

    A proposal from a group of educators and USLHC collaboration leaders calls for the creation of  a Research and Study Abroad Program in Geneva, Switzerland for U.S. undergraduate physics students.  The proposal outlines the requirements for a semester long program to facilitate the participation of...

    Full Story

  • bugle

    DPF Task Force on Instrumentation in High Energy Physics

    Last October , a workshop on Detector R&D was held at Fermilab sponsored by the five DOE Laboratories and the DPF. As the slides show, there is fascinating instrumentation research in our community at both the labs and the universities, but there is also reason...

    Full Story

  • Tevatron_exclusion

    Office of Science rejects Tevatron Run-III

    In the communication below, William Brinkman (Director of DOE Office of Science) informed HEPAP of the decision not to fund Run-III Tevatron-Brinkman-to-Shochet

    Full Story

  • dewey_defeats_truman1

    Results of 2010 DPF elections

    by Chip Brock Michigan State University, DPF chair I’m pleased to announce the results of the 2010 DPF election as follows: Jon Rosner of the University of Chicago has been elected Vice-Chair. Jonathan Feng of University of California, Irvine and Lynne Orr of the University...

    Full Story